What are the 10 Clauses of ISO 45001

ISO 45001:2018 is the most recent version of the international standard in the Occupational Health & Safety (OH&S) Management System. Its purpose is to help organisations of different sizes to reduce work-related injuries and diseases.

Unlike the older version, this new standard provides many changes, including detailed risk planning and assessment. Below is a comprehensive guide explaining the 10 clauses of ISO 45001 to help you understand how it works.

The 10 Clauses of ISO 45001

Clause 1 – Scope

Carries introductory information about ISO 45001 as a standard for an OHSMS model that:

  • Meets the necessary regulatory requirements.
  • Acknowledges that the need for an OH&S management system is dependent on continual improvement and accomplishment of objectives.
  • Can be deployed to virtually any type and size of an organisation.

Clause 2 & Clause 3 – Terms and Definitions

These sections are designed as summaries and simply note that there are no normative references. Clause 3 features a list of terms and definitions that apply to the ISO 45001 standard.

Clause 4 – Context of the Organisation

This section requires organisations to assess the context of their operations and document the needs and expectations of interested parties. Usually, this is categorised into two: external and internal issues.

External issues include your organisation’s union expectations, political and economic conditions, as well as relevant laws and regulations. On the other hand, internal issues include your company’s communication methodologies and the commitment of your team to co-operate and adhere to the existing policies.

Clause 5 – Leadership

This section is designed for employees and managers alike. It demands that the top leaders demonstrate leadership and dedication regarding the OH&S management system. It also requires top managers to implement, monitor, and maintain an OH&S policy that’s unique to your organisation and make sure the administrative authorities, roles, and responsibilities are clearly understood.

Clause 6 – Planning

This involves establishing the objectives of your health and safety management systems and how you can attain them. The obvious reason is to mitigate the risk of workplace accidents and common health issues.

Clause 6 Planning | What are the 10 Clauses of ISO 45001

Clause 7 – Support

In this section, your organisation needs to provide support elements required to implement, manage, and continually improve the occupational health and safety management system. This support system may include resources, methods of communication, staff awareness, and the need for documented information.

Clause 8 – Operation

Section eight covers the operation controls organisations must look into, including management of change, emergency response, elimination of hazards, and change in procurement. You can implement your operational processes by developing criteria for operation control.

Clause 9 – Performance Evaluation

Performance evaluation covers systems for monitoring and assessment of compliance with internal audit, legal requirements, and management review to ensure the system’s overall effectiveness.

Clause 10 – Improvement

This last clause demands that your organisation manages the OH&S system nonconformities, incidents, and corrective actions. This also covers the commitment to continual improvement.

Contact Best Practice Biz Today

Now that you know all the ten clauses of ISO 45001, you might be considering certification. If you’re interested, please contact Best Practice Biz, an accredited certification body that focuses on training and certification for ISO 45001.

Subscribe to our Newsletter


This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Share This Post With Your Network

More To Discover