What ISO Certification Is Most Important in 2021

The international organisation for standardisation (ISO) develops and publishes international standards. ISO doesn’t provide compliance certificates therefore, Australian and New Zealand companies need to be certified by a JAS-ANZ accredited ISO certification body. Once a company completes the certification process, it can use the certification body’s logo for advertising its compliance. The ISO certifications that are most important in 2021 depend on the business and industry that you belong to and what types of accreditation your clients want to see. We give a brief description of a few of the more popular ISO certifications below. 

ISO 9001: Quality Management System

Any business in any industry can gain ISO 9001 Quality Management certification. The ISO 9001 certification indicates that your company has a quality management system that is up to international standards. The ISO updates standards roughly every seven years, and the ISO 9001 2015 is the latest.

The ISO 9001 certification deals with a company’s ability to provide products and services while consistently meeting or exceeding their customers’ expectations. You can expect an organisation with ISO 9001 to deliver excellent customer satisfaction and have systems to ensure continuous improvement.  

What ISO Certification Is Most Important in 2021 | Best Practice Blog

ISO 27000: Information Technology

The ISO 27000 family of standards deals with improving security and protecting assets in the IT-sphere. ISO 27001 is an information security management system. ISO 27002 focuses on having a code of conduct in place for the individual. 

ISO 27001 is a thorough document. The certifying body has some leeway to tailor the certification for the company’s needs. There are over 22 000 ISO 27001 certified companies across the world. 

ISO 14001: Environmental Management

ISO 14001 is a voluntary standard designed to help companies manage their environmental impact. To be able to claim ISO 14001, a company needs to conform to all the requirements of the ISO with no exclusions. The system put forward in this standard is based on the plan-do-check-act (PDCA) model. This ISO aims to help companies improve environmental performance, follow local environmental laws and achieve their stated objectives.  

ISO 45001: Health and Safety

The health and safety ISO brings decades of health and safety regulations and best practices into a single document. ISO 45001 takes a risk-based approach, including many of the OHAS 18001 requirements. It creates a path to ongoing health and safety awareness and improvement. By detailing a practical OH&S management ideal, it saves international companies money by already having the tools to comply with any local safety regulations that may be in place. Having the ISO 45001 Certification also has the advantage of inspiring both employee and customer confidence in a company and saving downtime caused by accidents. 


Your company will start experiencing the benefits of ISOs almost straight away. You will have globally accepted management tools in your grasp. With certification, any other company you do business with can see that you adhere to global best practices. The most critical accreditation depends on your company’s work and the sector that you service. A more specific ISO is better for you if you belong to the health or food sector. An ISO 9000 certificate shows that you focus on customer satisfaction and improving your products and services. 

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Share This Post With Your Network